Current and Previous Scholarship Winners

2018 Scholarship Recipients

Arizona Artists Guild is pleased to announce that it has awarded $8,500 in Visual Arts Scholarships for the 2018 year. Begun in 1993, the AAG Scholarship Program has given over $100,000.00 to university enrolled, full-time fine art students in the State of Arizona.  Award recipients receive scholarship money deposited directly into the student’s college bursar account. In addition, they receive a one-year Arizona Artists Guild membership and participate in a group exhibition of their work at the prestigious Shemer Art Center and Museum in Phoenix.

This year’s scholarship exhibition will be co-curated by 2017 scholarship recipient Layne Farmer and AAG president Tess Mosko Scherer.   The exhibition, titled New Art Arizona, will run from March 8 – April 5, 2018. Shemer Art Center and Museum is located at 5005 E. Camelback Rd, Phoenix, AZ 85018.  You can visit the exhibit during regular hours or join us for a reception on March 8 from 6-8pm.  For more information on Shemer Art Center and Museum visit

Recipient’s Presentations:
Each award recipient will give a 10 – 15 minute presentation of their work on March 20 at Arizona Artists Guild, located at 18411 N 7th Avenue, Phoenix. Come see what kind of new work student artists are working on! There will be a chance to mingle and meet the artists and the curator, Layne Farmer after the presentations. We hope to see you there!!

2018 was another historic year. AAG partnered with the Arizona Watercolor Association scholarship program, providing a $1500 scholarship for work in water media. Additionally, we received a record number of applications from community colleges, undergraduate and graduate students. This made the juror’s work most challenging not only because of the volume of applicants but also due to the innovation, quality and artistic expression of the works submitted.  Congratulations to all who submitted!

Eliza Weber | AAG Scholarship $1000

Hye young Yun | Marigold Linton Scholarship $1600

Larry Valencia Madrigal | Erin O’Dell Scholarship $1000

Laura Korch Bailey | Ruth Magadini Scholarship $1000

Michael E. Jacobs | AAG Scholl Family Scholarship $1100

Michael Loren Diaz | AAG|AWA Del Decil Scholarship $1500

Ross Quesnell | AAG President Scholarship $1500

2017 Scholarship Recipients

Arizona Artists Guild awarded $7,000 in Visual Arts Scholarships for the 2017 year.

The 2017 scholarship exhibition was co-curated by 2015 scholarship recipient, Zachary Valent and Tess Mosko Scherer, AAG president.   The exhibition, titled, New Art in Arizona ran from March 9- April 6, 2017 at Shemer Art Center and Museum.

2017 was an historic year, marking a record number of applications from community colleges, undergraduate and graduate students.

Andrew Noble | ASU | AAG Ruth Magadini Scholarship $1000

Layne Farmer | ASU | AAG Erin O’Dell Scholarship $1000.

Brandi Lee Cooper | ASU | AAG President’s Scholarship $1500

Tyler Griese | ASU | AAG Marigold Linton Scholarship $1500.

Elizabeth Tabor | ASU | AAG Scholarship $1000

Shannon Ludington | ASU | AAG Scholarship $1000.


2016 Scholarship Recipients:

Chris Vena | Marigold Linton Scholarship Award  $1600. | ASU – painting

Camila Galofre | Arizona Artists Guild President’s Scholarship Award  $1400. | ASU-MRA – painting/drawing

Hanna Irene Walsh | Ruth Magadini Scholarship Award  $1000. | ASU – MFA drawing/painting

Randall (Cam) DeCaussin | Erin O’Dell Scholarship Award  $1000. | ASU – Painting

John Tuomisto-Bell | Arizona Artists Guild Scholarship Award  $1000. | ASU – Sculpture

Jace Becker | Arizona Artists Guild Scholarship Award  $1000. | ASU – photography

2015 Scholarship Recipients:

Jonah Amadeus Skurky-Thomas- Ceramics: Arizona Artists Guild Scholarship

Travis Rice – Drawing and Painting: Marigold Linton Scholarship Award

Zachary John Valent- Sculpture: Erin O’Dell Scholarship Award

Courtney Richter- Fibers: Ruth S Magadini Scholarship Award

Dani Godreau- Drawing and Painting: Diane Maxey Scholarship Award

Arizona Artists Guild- Previous Scholarship Recipients:

2014 Recipients:

Elizabeth Redmond Odiorne, $1,000 Erin O’Dell Award – Fibers

Shiyuan XU, $500 Bollinger Sculpture Award – Ceramics

Shiyuan XU, $1,000 Ruth S Magadini Award – Ceramics

Thad Trubakoff, $2,650 Mary Lou Harvey Award – Woods

Andrew (AJ) Nafziger, $1,500 Marigold Linton Award – Painting/Drawing

Wen-Dan Lin, $1,000 Arizona Artists Guild Award– Ceramics

Shemer Art Center Guest Curator Position, $1000- Colleen Donohoe, Printmaking

2013 Recipeints:

Madison N Creech, $3,000 Gerry Grout Award – Fibers

Kelly R O’Briant, $2,450 Diane Maxey Award – Ceramics

Jenny M Day, $1,550 Arizona Artists Guild Award – Painting

Allyson K Glowacki, $1,000 Ruth S. Magadini Award – Painting

Heather Couch, $1,000 Erin O’Dell Award – Ceramics

Heather Couch, $1,000 Shemer Art Center Guest Curator Position – Ceramics

 2012 Recipients:

Tristyn Bustamante, $2,000 Arizona Artists Guild Award – Ceramics

Jacob Fischer, $2,000 Gerry Grout Award – Drawing and Painting

Yoni Pozner, $1,000 Gerry Grout Award – Digital Arts and Film

Sarah Rowland, $1,000 Ruth S. Magadini Award – Drawing and Painting

 2011 Recipients:

Kathleen Scott Moore, $1,500 Arizona Artists Guild Award – Printmaking

Julia Jones, $1,000 Gerry Grout Award – Painting and Drawing

Kelsey Wiskirchen, $1,000 Gerry Grout Award – Fibers

Benjamin William Phillips, $1,000 Ruth S. Magadini Award and

$500 Arizona Artists Guild Award – Sculpture

 2010 Recipeints:

Angela Young, $1,000 Gerry Grout Award – Printmaking

Judd Schiffman, $1,000 Arizona Artists Guild Award – Painting

Andrea Jensen, $1,000 Ruth S. Magadini Award – Painting

Chad Gunderson, $1,000 Gerry Grout Award – Ceramics

 2009 Recipients:

Eleanor Richards,  $1,000 Gerry Grout Award – Sculpture

Olivia Timmons, $1,000 Gerry Grout Award – Printmaking

Terri Krallitsch, $1,000 Ruth S. Magadini Award – Painting

Shelly Flores,  $1,000 Arizona Artists Guild Award  – Photography

 2008 Recipients:

Gwyneth Scally, $1,000 Ruth S. Magadini Award – Painting & Sculpture

James Coquia, $1,000 Arizona Artists Guild Award  – Ceramics

Gazelle Samizay, $1,000 – Digital Media

Tina M. Notaro, $1,000 – Sculpture

To view the Image Gallery of previous winner work and for selection by

Guest Curator applicants click here.

Facebookpinteresttumblrby feather
Facebookpinterestinstagrammailby feather